Skip to main content

Regular session on Wednesday, August 8, 2018.

Brevard Soil and Water Conservation District Minutes

The Brevard Soil and Water Conservation District met in regular session on Wednesday, August 8, 2018, at 4:00 p.m., in the 4-H Conference Room, UF/IFAS Extension Brevard County, 3695 Lake Drive,
Cocoa, Florida.

July 11, 2018, meeting was cancelled due to no new business.

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Bud Crisafulli, at 4:00 p.m.

Board members present were: Bud Crisafulli; Henry Minneboo; Allen Cowart; and Adam Perez.

Staff members present were: Chuck O’Rourke; Mike Engelgau; Beth Shephard; and Walter Albarran.

Approval of June 13, 2018, Minutes

Motion by Henry, seconded by Allen, to approve the minutes of June 13, 2018. The vote passed unanimously.

Approval of Treasurer’s Report for the Period of June 13, 2018 – August 7, 2018

Motion by Henry, seconded by Allen, to approve treasurer’s report as presented. The vote passed unanimously.

Old Business


New Business

Beth informed the Board on the status of the search for a new director for the UF/IFAS Extension Brevard County. The selection of the director will be a joint decision between the University of Florida and the Brevard County Commission. Beth stated she is currently the only candidate.

Chuck briefed the Board on the current state of the EQIP program regarding Florida Area 3.

Chuck reviewed the United States Department of Agriculture annual Civil Rights Responsibilities for Partners Checklist with the Board. All Board members in attendance signed the affirmation of review.

Walter went into detail on the current EQIP contracts. He stated there are 321 applications and 95 contracts. With $4.8 to $4.9 million in funds obligated to the 16 counties in Florida Area 3.

Chuck announced he will be hosting the annual Brevard Soil and Water Conservation District Local Working Group on August 29 at the UF/IFAS Brevard County Extension Center from 10:00 am-12:00 pm.

Upon consensus of the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 4:47 p.m.